Prize Money for ICC World Cup 2019


The winners of the upcoming ICC men’s World Cup will earn a cash award of $4 million, the highest prize money on offer in the history of the tournament. The winners of the 10-team tournament will also get a trophy that they will lift at the historic Lord’s on July 16, a statement from the ICC read. 

The total prize pot of $10 million will see the runners-up take home $2 million and the losing semifinalists $800,000 each at the end of the 46-day tournament being played across 11 venues in UK from May 30. 

There are prizes for each league match won, in what promises to be a competitive tournament with the world’s best teams playing each other in a round-robin format. 

ICC CWC 2019 — Prize Money: Winners (1) $4,000,000; Runners-Up (1) $2,000,00; Losing Semi-Finalists (2) $800,000 each; Winners of each league stage match (45): $40,000 each; Teams that do pass the league stage (6) $100,000 each.

The International Cricket Council declared a total prize money pool of US $10 million for the tournament, the same as the 2015 edition. The prize money will be distributed according to the performance of the team as follows:

Stage Prize money (US$) Total
Winner $4,000,000 $4,000,000
Runner-up $2,000,000 $2,000,000
Losing semi-finalists $800,000 $1,600,000
Winner of each league stage match $40,000 $1,800,000
Teams that do not pass the league stage $100,000 $600,000
Total   $10,000,000

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.